My Thoughts on My Hair

This is my hair on a good day in July

Fact. On a good day in July, my hair looks like a frustrated lion trying to catch dinner.

I made the conscious decision a couple of months ago to not straighten my hair. It seems pretty insignificant, I realize that, but I had a bigger reason why. I have curly hair. It’s what I call the Junie B Jones mop. It’s hair that’s never neat.

Sometimes I wear Fezes. Fezes are cool

Sometimes I wear Fezes. Fezes are cool

It’s the kind of hair that looks terrible under a hat—probably because it was never meant to be covered.

It’s the kind of hair that will not fix itself. It refuses to. It’s a symbol for me—a reminder of sorts.

Over the past year, I’ve been thinking a lot about how we portray ourselves, in every way: what we tell people, what we dress like, how we think about ourselves, and yes even how we do really small things like wear our clothes and or our hair.

Anthropology researchers have been talking about this for years. I once sat through a lecture on the importance of black hair and how there was a very divided view on how black women ought to style their hair. Some believed that the natural curls were best, and any attempt of relaxation was “anti-black.”

What blew me away was that everything that we do could become a symbol. Symbols can be used to encourage, to enforce, to remind and even (as evident by the Hunger Games Trilogy) to rile up. Symbols are these insignificant objects that we’ve decided to make important.

I was reminded of how when I was a kid, all I wanted was long sleek hair. For me that was associated with whiteness and beauty and even desirability. Now I was made painfully aware that I was not the kind of girl boys liked. They liked my friends that had that sleek straight hair that went down to the middle of their back.

I was thirteen when I got my first straightener for Christmas. My parents had made it a point to not enforce the need to be beautiful in the traditional sense, and at thirteen, I hated them for it. I was obsessed with my straightener when I first got it. It took me forever to do it but when my hair was straightened, I felt mature.  I felt beautiful. Everyone  complimented me, everyone except my father. He hated it, and he made it a point to tell me.

“I like your natural hair,” he would say. “You’re destroying the beautiful hair God gave you,” he would argue.

My Dad and the hair he loves so much

My Dad and the hair he loves so much

I think that was the first time I probably thought, “It’s my body, I’ll do what I want with it, thank you very much.”

What I didn’t realize until a couple of months ago was that my Dad was trying to teach me something about beauty. He was trying to show me that despite what I’ve ever thought about it, it’s MY hair.

It’s the hair I was born with, the hair I’ve struggled with, and it’s the hair that’s exactly my own.In many ways, my hair is like me. It’s unorganized and is simply made to fall where it wants. It reminds me to be unique. My hair—I’ve realized—is meant to be appreciated, and I’m thankful for it.

And that’s why I don’t straighten, not because I think straightening’s bad—obviously it’s not. I refuse to straighten because I want to appreciate who I am, exactly where I am. I wear my hair, naturally, as a symbol of acceptance of who I am. When I figure that out, when I figure out that whole acceptance thing, maybe then I’ll be content…maybe.

2 thoughts on “My Thoughts on My Hair

  1. Even though I have told you many times that I love your blog, I am going to say it again – I love your blog!
    Each post is personal to you and also very relatable to any reader, both young and old. With this topic in particular, I like how you get straight to the point. The introduction is simple but states the basic subject of your post – your hair. I’ve noticed throughout your blog and other things that I have heard you have read, you do a great job in incorporating literary and pop culture references like Junie B. Jones mop, Hunger Games and Fezzes (because fezzes are cool). It brings both a lighter air to your posts but also allows for your audience to connect your content to the world outside of the blog.
    The flow of the post is great; the words are simple and the sentences are easy to read. I enjoy the subtle shift from the objective look about female beauty and hair to your own personal views and experiences. The reader gets to know more about your thoughts but also about your life and how the simple concept of straightening your hair could have an immense impact on your life.
    The post is also very scannable; not through the typical use of subheadings but through using bolded sentences, bolded words, the use of italics and even through pictures and the captions. It allows the eyes to hone in on certain statements that are important and meaningful to what you are trying to convey.
    Overall, the blog, your niche and your posts are captivating to read. The format that you have of just displaying your thoughts outright gives your posts a unique voice and shows you have grasped your niche. I’m excited to see what other topics you choose to write about and how your blog progresses over the course!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I totally agree with the commentator above said. Your writing style is clear, fresh and amazing! I love it. When you write, I connect with you on a deep level. It’s awesome. Also, thank you for the kind words. It made me cry. I hope you keep writing and that we stay connected. I relate to you a lot.

    Like

Leave a comment